First night

 

On my first night in my foster home, I was frightened. But I had dinner, and a bath, and watched some TV. And these things were okay. Meat pies were a treat, the bath was bigger, and Cartoon Network was normally restricted to the car dealerships when the step-dad once bought a utility vehicle.

And then my foster mother hugged me and kissed me on the cheek.

“Don’t do that!” I yelled up at her. “You’re not my mother.”

11-07-are-you-my-mother

“Okay,” she said. “I won’t do it again.”

And she kept her promise. Because she knew that once a child in welfare draws an emotional and physical boundary, it has to be kept.

It’s just that I never knew that line existed. I craved that closeness and because it was always there she still unconsciously felt like a stranger to me.

One thought on “First night

  1. We frequently surprise ourselves….in good and bad ways. We think ourselves decent people but then do something we normally would deem as bad but then we do good things we wouldn’t have thought ourselves capable of…it’s crazy. Boundaries I’m sure are the same thing. It’s hard to know what boundaries we have until we’ve met them and when we do, we sometimes wish we could erase them. Living is a tough business.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

